DIY csCNC – 2 (Linistepper Driver and testing with Buspirate)

Since I started building DIY CNC, I checked the free, opensource motor controller. There are several alternatives. I chose linisteppr controller.

http://www.piclist.com/techref/io/stepper/linistep/index.htm

http://www.romanblack.com/lini.htm

  • – Simple and cheap (my first priority 🙂 ) and I can source required parts locally
  • –  microstepping, open design (Especially, it’s PIC16F628A based. I’m PIC guy and a lot 16F628A in my stock)

Build log is fast, simple and straight. I used a simple perfboard for faster development.

DIY-linistepper (1) DIY-linistepper (2)

 

After building the driver, I tested it with my buspirate using PWM function for generating stepping pulse. I started with 1kHz and increased to 4 kHz.

  • – Buspitrate GND and AUX pin were connected to driver STEP and GND pins
  • – For full step, motor was stalled at 1 kHz
  • – The motor is smoothly run at 1 kHz at half step and 6th microstepping
  • – The motor running faster and smoother at 4kHz for 16th microstepping
  • Need bigger heatsink or small fan, sa mention in linistepper page,it is hot a lot

linistepper-buspirate (2) linistepper-buspirate (3)

DIY-linistepper (4)

The next part is the CNC controller and software.

By Oakkar7

okelectronic.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

