DIY Drill Press

This is an old project which I built since last year. I just want to share and add as a project log here.

As a developer from undeveloped country, my budget is very limited. So, I chose DIY style drill press.  So, I have to collect parts for my projects from old printers, scanner, etc.

This is a pilot project , built for my need to build upcoming a CNC project.  Another problem, I don’t have any power tools except a small drill gun and hand tools. After learning DIY CNC process from internet, before building a CNC, I think I should have a drill press for perpendicular drilling. So,I decided to build a drill press first.

1# collected required material for base and a cheap china made rotary tool. A bamboo kitchen plate is my favorite for base plate in such design, weight is heavy, thick and rough. A L shape supports for vertical stands. Total material cost is about 25$ 🙂 .

DIY-csDrillPress (1) DIY-csDrillPress (3)

# Started with vertical support, vertical Z axis linear slide rod from old printer.

DIY-csDrillPress (4) DIY-csDrillPress (5) DIY-csDrillPress (6)

Fixed rods with L shaped aluminium bars with wood stoppers.

DIY-csDrillPress (7)

Assembled Z axis and rails.

DIY-csDrillPress (8)

3# prepared for linear slides and Z-axis slides. Two plastics bars are used as linear slides.

DIY-csDrillPress (9) DIY-csDrillPress (10) DIY-csDrillPress (11)

4# Prepared for rotary tool mount by cutting two plastics plates.

DIY-csDrillPress (12) DIY-csDrillPress (13)

Fixed the holder plates on vertical Z bed.

DIY-csDrillPress (14)

5# Fixed rotary tool on bed by using steel hole bars and spring. I wanted to make flexible and changeable tool bed.

DIY-csDrillPress (15)

Z axis and tool is tested and installed.

DIY-csDrillPress (16)

6# After this, a handle was designed.

DIY-csDrillPress (17)

Designed and cut push down lever crowbar bars.

DIY-csDrillPress (18)

Installed both side of gantry plate.

DIY-csDrillPress (19)

Prepared for handle.

DIY-csDrillPress (20) DIY-csDrillPress (21)

7# Finally, a DIY drill-press is on my bench. Attached a iron flat rod to strengthen vertical stand.

Nothing special, just a simple, cheap and working DIY tool 😀 .

DIY-csDrillPress (22) DIY-csDrillPress (23)

 

By oakkar7

okelectronic.wordpress.com

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Drill Press

Leave a Reply

