DIY Musical Keyboard in Action

Visitor from DP requested the device in action video. Here are these videos. Sorry for poor quality. I don’t have a video camera and I try to use webcam and laptop to capture this. The first video is tuning with Nexus 7 gStrings app and second one is testing.

Matseng from DP forum said that “So many tone generators.. :-)”. yes it is.

Every musical instrument is basically tone generator. At least 12 tones generators are required for 12 pitches, C,C#…A#,B (ie: 12 freqs) for such devices.
pros of this 4060 design are;

  •  required only 12 x 4060 ckts for 84 keys. I only used 48 keys because I have only 48 salvaged keys.
  • easy to tune, I need to tune one tone for each octave

If I use other oscillators (without uC), 84 tone generators will be required for 84 keys.
I have to add more effects and control ckts soon.

Contest entries are awesome.

4 thoughts on “DIY Musical Keyboard in Action

  1. ဆရာ အကိုေရ… ဟိုးဖက္က Telecommunication ဘေလာ႔ကို ဆက္မေရးေတာ႔ဘူးလားအကို..
    အကို႔ဆီက စာေတြ ဖတ္ခ်င္ပါတယ္ ။ အခ်ိန္ေလးရွိရင္ ေရးေပးပါအုန္းဗ်ာ ေနာ္ ။
    တကယ္လို႔ အခ်ိန္မရလို႔ မေရးႏိုင္ဘူးဆိုရင္ telecommunication နဲ ပက္သက္လို႔ အေၿခခံကေန အဆင္႔ၿမင္႔ထိ ေလ႔လာႏိုင္မဲ႔ စာအုပ္မ်ား ၊ စာအုပ္နာမည္မ်ားကို အစဥ္လိုက္ေလး ကၽြန္ေတာ္႔ ေမးလ္ထဲကို ပို႔ေပးပါလားအကို ေက်းဇူးအထူးတင္ပါတယ္ ။ အကိုလိုပဲ တတ္ေၿမာက္ခ်င္လို႔ပါ ။
    sulatt23@gmail.com ဒါက ကၽြန္ေတာ္႔ ေမးလ္ပါ အကို

    • Hi,
      I don’t think someone(from Myanmar) would find this blog and noticed it was me. Thanks for visiting. I lost my mood among frustrative things to write telecom blog at the moment. I try to write ASAP. I also try to prepare the books list and mail to you or post in blog.

  2. hello sir. thank you for sharing your knowledge with us,really appreciate it,,, i’m from India and i have very little knowledge about electronics but i like tinkering around and making fun projects. 🙂
    My question being, is there anyway by which i can create a simple one octave keyboard but have good sound quality rather than this 8-bit sound, something like the real thing. is there anyway one could store samples of each note being played… and then on pressing a particular button the sample plays the good quality sound. i know its easier to make a midi controller and trigger the good quality sound through the computer. but for my project i need a stand alone solution can’t use a computer in conjunction with my project. please help if u can. and thanks again.
    hope u have an answer/links to my problem. looking forward to your response 😀

Leave a Reply

